it’s a braid thing

Maybe it’s because I’m super bored with my hair, or maybe it’s because I hate headbands and their never-failing ability to anger the pressure points behind my ears (I know, personal issue, right?). So lately I’ve been making my own headbands out of…my own hair. I tried this last spring on my friend Amanda, but haven’t pursued it since. Until now, that is. It’s not the typical sidebraid that Lauren Conrad’s known for, and not a complete wrap around of a long length braid like Miss Thing or anything, but, perhaps, a happy combination of both. Below are 3 different ways I’ve tried it.

1. Basic

It starts as a side braid, somewhere behind or before your ear, french braiding (or corn-rowing [pulling under, instead of over, like in a french braid] like I have done in the picture) it up until you get to the point right before your eyebrow arch starts. At this point, just braid the strand normally for about two and a half inches or so…

It starts as a side braid, somewhere behind or before your ear, french braiding (or the opposite - pulling under, instead of over, like in a french braid - like I have done in the picture) it up until you get to the point right before your eyebrow arch starts. At this point, just braid the strand normally for about two and a half inches or so...

...and you pull that plain, un-corn-rowed braid over the loose hair (the hair that a headband would normally push back).

...and you pull that plain, unfrenched braid over the loose hair (the hair that a headband would normally push back). I've noticed that this loose hair can get in the way while your slung over sideways trying to braid up the side of your head, so usually I pin it back with bobby pins until the next step.

Once you've headbanded a bulk of the lose hair, then start corn-rowing back down the other side of your head - starting either towards the end of the arch of your other eyebrow, or wherever you can get back in the groove, and continue the braiding all the way down the other side of your head. Once you have no more head to braid off of, just braid the remainder regularly and messy-bun it for security.

Once you've headbanded a bulk of the loose hair, then start french braiding back down the other side of your head - starting either towards the end of the arch of your other eyebrow, or wherever you can get back in the groove, and continue the braiding all the way down the other side of your head (It's around this time where you can unbobby pin the loose hair). Once you have no more head to braid off of, just braid the remainder regularly and messy-bun it for security, as you can see I've done in the first picture.

 

Another view: you can see where regular braid stops and the french braiding down the side starts.

Another view: you can see where the regular braid stops and the french braiding down the side starts.

 

 

2. Basic, but with a part

When I started this one, I, at first, wanted to keep my hair down - like people usually do with headbands.
When I started this one, I, at first, wanted to keep my hair down – like people usually do with headbands.
But for this one, I wanted a part. Mine is, again, a little hack jobby, but it's summer and it's too hot to trot. The steps are the same as the first example, but when you pin back the loose hair while you're french braiding up the sides, you make a part and bobby pin them separately in opposite directions.
But for this one, I wanted a part. Mine is a little hack jobby, but it’s summer and it’s too hot to trot. The steps are the same as the first example, but when you pin back the loose hair while you’re french braiding up the sides, you make a part and bobby pin them separately in opposite directions.
Pulling the hair back, you can see that it starts off the same way, but when you have your hair down, like in the picture above, you are able to cover up that part up. Whatever floats your boat, yo.

Pulling the hair back, you can see that it starts off the same way, but when you have your hair down, like in the last picture, you are able to cover that part up. Whatever floats your boat, yo.

From above you can see the whole part feel...a little Swedish beer maidish, no? (Like that's ever a bad thing!) When you stop the french braiding part on the first side, just pull the 2.5 inches of regular braid over the parted bobby pinned sections.

From above you can see the whole part feel...a little German beer maidish, no? (Like that's ever a bad thing!) When you stop the french braiding part on the first side, just pull the 2.5 inches of regular braid over the parted bobby pinned sections.

Once you've comfortably started french braiding down the other side of your head, you can undo the bobby pins. Secure the braid in a bun, or, like above, just leave your hair down (For me and my layers, this proved to be not such a good idea, as I had little wing-like pieces looking to fly me away. Not hot!).

Once you've comfortably started french braiding down the other side of your head, you can undo the bobby pins. Secure the braid in a bun, or, like in the first picture of this section, just leave your hair down (For me and my layers, this proved to be not such a good idea, as I had little wing-like pieces looking to fly me away. Not hot!). If putting it up, maybe bobby pin the hair on the crown of your head in a little poof, to make it look like you got some volume. That is, if you dont have a BUMP IT on hand...oy!

 

 

3. Basic with wrap-around hair securer thing

Same drill. By now you should be a pro! French braid up the side until you hit the forehead area, then braid the piece for a few inches and pull it across a clump of loose hair.

Same drill. By now you should be a pro! French braid up the side until you hit the forehead area, then braid the piece for a few inches and pull it across a clump of loose hair.

After you have pulled the braid over the loose hair, start latching the braid into a french braid down the side. Continue it until you reach past the ear point, then just braid it regularly. Braid the entire strand of hair.

After you have pulled the braid over the loose hair, start latching the braid into a french braid down the side. Continue it until you reach past the ear point, then just braid it regularly. Braid the entire strand of hair.

The braid should be able to reach all the way around the back of head, holding and securing your mass of hair.

The braid should be able to reach all the way around the back of head, holding and securing your mass of hair.

Like this! See? It serves as a barrette, almost. But, as you can see, my layers start to sneak out from under the braid. Nothing a little hairspray can't govern.

Like this! See? It serves as a barrette, almost. But, as you can see, my layers start to sneak out from under the braid. Nothing a little hairspray can't govern.

But, ah! How to secure the braid? What I did was to french braid the ends of the regular braid into little strands under my hair. This was messy and almost didn't work, but I managed to pull it tight. I didn't get a great picture of it, but as you can see, the braid kind of curves under. After awhile of fucking around with that noise, I braided the remainder of it regularly and pony-tailed the end to a regular, loose strand of hair underneath...so you can't see and everyone thinks you're a braid goddess, when in fact, if they were to lift all your hair up, they'd see the ghetto-ness. But, shhh.

But, ah! How to secure the braid? What I did was to french braid the ends of the regular braid into little strands under my hair. This was messy and almost didn't work, but I managed to pull it tight. I didn't get a great picture of it, but as you can see, the braid kind of curves under. After awhile of fucking around with that noise, I braided the remainder of it regularly and pony-tailed the end to a regular, loose strand of hair underneath...so you can't see and everyone thinks you're a braid goddess, when in fact, if they were to lift all your hair up, they'd see the ghetto-ness. But, shhh.

And that’s that. Of course, if you can’t french braid or braid your own hair, this is probably all gobbly gook to you. Even if you can, I still probably sound like the Rain Man. So, uh…well, at least you got to glimpse my Italian schnoz!

~ by angiesyounglover on July 11, 2009.

7 Responses to “it’s a braid thing”

  1. “hair securer thinger”

  2. i didnt know what to call it!

  3. Dude, this is brilliant! I have a huge head, so I can’t wear most headbands because they’re too tight and end up giving me a headache. I’m gonna try this.

    Also, dayum, you have some shiny hair! So pretty.

  4. I cannot fucking French braid, but I worked that shit anyway, no? MISS THING. Your comment font excites me.

  5. damn girl, you have some pretty hair. also, i am totally jealous of your ability to braid it like that, so neat and out-of-the-way! my hair is such a trollop, she’s too slippery to stay in a braid.

Leave a Reply

 
