almost famous

The first time I saw Almost Famous was some time between the spring and summer of 2000. Ever since then, I have watched it during the same time every year. It’s my seasonal movie. Kind of like how in the winter, I always have to watch The Shining.

Almost Famous is one of my top five favorite movies. Now, you can hate Kate Hudson, or you can think Billy Crudup is a triflin’ cheater, but the truth is, they are both perfect in this movie, along with Jason Lee, Francis McDormand, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Patrick Fugit. From the laugh-out-loud quotable lines, Cameron Crowe’s memoir-like storyline, and the killer soundtrack, this movie, in my opinion, excels in every direction.

Once again, my 70s time period obsession is probably to blame for my love with this picture. Every time I watch it, I wish that I was a journalist for Rolling Stone, touring with legendary rock stars like Crowe got to as a teen with Led Zeppelin, Lynyrd Skynyrd, and the Eagles. How fucking cool, right? To get to be backstage while the band you love makes history on stage and then get to chill with them afterwards? And it’s sad because there will never ever be music like there was during that time. There are no modern-day Zeppelins, no comparable bands to the Rolling Stones or Heart. So, for me, this movie is the next best thing to living that life.

Do you have a seasonal movie that you always have to watch once that certain time of year rolls around?

acid trip:

bus scene:

~ by angiesyounglover on April 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
